Vidor ISD board named 2020 Outstanding School Board

  • Vidor ISD board named 2020 Outstanding School Board
    Vidor ISD board named 2020 Outstanding School Board

The Vidor Independent School District’s Board of Trustees was named 2020 Outstanding School Board by Region 5, announced VISD Director of Community Relations Sally Andrews on July 22. The seven-member team’s nominating application, submitted by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jay Killgo, will be in competition with other school boards across the state for recognition as Honor Boards.

VISD is among 14 Texas school district boards of trustees that have been selected as regional nominees for the 2020 TASA School Board Awards. The regional nominees for 2020 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region 1 – McAllen ISD Board of Trustees, Jose Gonzalez, nominating superintendent;

Region 3 – Calhoun County ISD Board of Trustees, Larry Nichols, nominating superintendent;

Region 4 – Sheldon ISD Board of Trustees, King Davis, nominating superintendent;

Region 5 – Vidor ISD Board of Trustees, Jay Killgo, nominating superintendent;

Region 7 – Whitehouse ISD Board of Trustees, Chris Moran, nominating superintendent;

Region 9 – Throckmorton Collegiate ISD Board of Trustees, Michelle Cline, nominating superintendent;

Region 10 – Mesquite ISD Board of Trustees, David Vroonland, nominating superintendent;

Region 11 – Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Board of Trustees, Steven Chapman, nominating superintendent;

Region 12 – Temple ISD Board of Trustees, Bobby Ott, nominating superintendent;

Region 13 – Pflugerville ISD Board of Trustees, Doug Killian, nominating superintendent;

Region 15 – San Angelo ISD Board of Trustees, Carl Dethloff, nominating superintendent;

Region 16 – Dumas ISD Board of Trustees, Monty Hysinger, nominating superintendent;

Region 19 (large district category) – San Elizario ISD Board of Trustees, Jeannie Meza-Chavez, nominating superintendent; and

Region 19 (small district category) – Tornillo ISD Board of Trustees, Rosa Vega-Barrio, nominating superintendent.

Texas school superintendents who members of the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet virtually in early August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed this fall, and the 2020 Outstanding School Board will be announced.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.